Sunday, August 28, 2011

thirteen reasons why book review


Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.
On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he'll find out how he made the list.

Through Hannah and Clay's dual narratives, debut author Jay Asher weaves an intricate and heartrending story of confusion and desperation that will deeply affect teen readers.


The first time I saw the thirteen reasons why, I was intrigued by it’s cover. I don’t know something just called after me, but when I read the summary I thought maybe this isn’t for me. I usually read paranormal fantasy and I usually don’t like staying out of that bubble, but this year I decided to give everything a try. I tried genres that I have never tried before and I was glad I did. I found out so much more interesting books out there and on of those books was the 13 reasons why.

Want to know something interesting? I read this book within 4 hours. Some of you might say I have no life or some might say that’s amazing. Well all I’ve got to say is that I don’t care if you say I have no life, it’s definitely been one of the most well used four hours of my life and it’s not the fact that I read it in four hours that’s amazing. It’s the book itself. This book was one of those books I’ll remember for the rest of my life because I swear; this book changed my perception in life and the people around me. It also made me think about my life right now. It was that much of a great book

One of the great things I came across while reading this book is the contrast between Hannah Baker’s humoristic tone while she tells her story via tape to Clay Jensen’s more serious way of telling the story. It made things more interesting and less depressing.
I also like the way Jay Asher kept on adding that suspense in the story, the way everything fits together like one big puzzle, and the audio tapes in general. I never would have thought of that and it was genius.

Thirteen reasons why is a definite must-read for all ages and I have no doubt it will change the way you think forever.

rating: 4/5

Monday, June 27, 2011


for all Unearthly fans out there here's the next book for the Unearthly Series, Hollowed

SO stunning XD my eyes is seriously sparkling with delight :D
here's the summary:

For months part-angel Clara Gardner trained to face the raging forest fire from her visions and rescue the alluring and mysterious Christian Prescott from the blaze. But nothing could prepare her for the fateful decisions she would be forced to make that day, or the startling revelation that her purpose—the task she was put on earth to accomplish—is not as straightforward as she thought. Now, torn between her increasingly complicated feelings for Christian and her love for her boyfriend, Tucker, Clara struggles to make sense of what she was supposed to do the day of the fire. And, as she is drawn further into the world of part angels and the growing conflict between White Wings and Black Wings, Clara learns of the terrifying new reality that she must face: Someone close to her will die in a matter of months. With her future uncertain, the only thing Clara knows for sure is that the fire was just the beginning.

coming out on: January 24th 2012
can't wait XD

Hex Hall

Sorry if my review is a little late, my computer crashed and I had to get it fixed.

Summary: Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It's gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie's estranged father--an elusive European warlock--only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it's her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hex Hall, an isolated reform school for wayward Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters.
By the end of her first day among fellow freak-teens, Sophie has quite a scorecard: three powerful enemies who look like supermodels, a futile crush on a gorgeous warlock, a creepy tagalong ghost, and a new roommate who happens to be the most hated person and only vampire student on campus. Worse, Sophie soon learns that a mysterious predator has been attacking students, and her only friend is the number-one suspect.

As a series of blood-curdling mysteries starts to converge, Sophie prepares for the biggest threat of all: an ancient secret society determined to destroy all Prodigium, especially her.

When I first laid my eyes on Hex Hall, I didn't want anything to do with it. Partly because so far all the books I read that involved boarding schools led me down and they often disappointed my expectations. After completing Hex hall I would say that it was a completely different story compared to the other boarding school books I read. It was unique,refreshing, and I would say entertaining.

Sophie starts off trying to help someone with their problem and completely messing it all up causing her to go to Hex Hall. A school for troubled witches,faeries, and shapeshifters. There she meets enemies,friends, a hot guy, and basically lots of trouble. Sophie was definitely a charming and spunky character. I loved the way she handlesd the situations given to her even though sometimes it causes her big trouble. She is definitely the type of character who doesn't need prince charming to rescue her because she's no doubt a kick butt character.

Rachel Hawkins' was unique and very compelling. She hooked me from the first page and left me wanting for more. The way she wrote her characters made them shine and there was no dull moment. This fast pace book will certainly grab you and captivate you the way it did to me. If you like a delightful, laugh-out-loud,invigorating book with a hint of paranormal creatures. This is no doubt the book for you

Thursday, June 16, 2011

Illusions book review

After devouring and enjoying wings and spells, there would be no way for me to skip out on Illusions. As soon as I got a copy of Illusions, I immediately indulged myself in Laurel’s faerie world, and I’ve got to say, the book just kept on getting better and better. Illusions definitely showed me the whole reason why I loved the series.

Many people complain about the book’s pacing, they think it’s slow, and if you asked me I would say, it’s true, but somehow I didn’t feel like it was a drag and I didn’t feel bored with it. It was perfect for me actually. I loved the twists and turn that Apprilynne Pike put throughout the book. It kept me wanting to read more and more until I was done with the whole series.

Laurel, I liked her despite the fact that she can’t sort out her feelings and can be a pain sometimes. There is just something that I find charming about her. One advice for Laurel Though, TAMANI!!! TAMANI!!! TAMANI!!! Tamani all the way! If you don’t want him give him to me :P (hahah)

Illusions left me crazy and hungry for more. (Dang cliffhangers !@$#$@$@#)
I can’t wait to find out what the missing puzzle piece that the book left me hanging to for the next book and yes, I do recommend the series to you especially if your looking for a soothing and cute paranormal book.

Overall rating 5/5

Monday, June 6, 2011

Summers crossing (Iron fey 3.5) Puck's story book review


Midsummer's Nightmare? Robin Goodfellow. Puck. Summer Court prankster, King Oberon's right hand, bane of many a faery queen's existence—and secret friend to Prince Ash of the Winter Court. Until one girl's death came between them, and another girl stole both their hearts.

Now Ash has granted one favor too many and someone's come to collect, forcing the prince to a place he cannot go without Puck's help—into the heart of the Summer Court. And Puck faces the ultimate choice—betray Ash and possibly win the girl they both love, or help his former friend turned bitter enemy pull off a deception that no true faery prankster could possibly resist.

An ebook exclusive novella from Julie Kagawa's Iron Fey series.

I was basically jumping up and down with joy when I found out that Julie Kagawa released an e-book novella Summer’s crossing which is probably not much of a surprise since most of the people who reads my reviews probably knows that I am a puck fan girl.
As usual, Julie Kagawa didn’t disappoint and she met my high expectations. I thoroughly enjoyed each and every page of Summer’s crossing, I just wished there were more pages. It was just really entertaining.

Puck and Ash’s friendship was explored more during the Summer’s crossing, and I’ve got to say they make an interesting and hilarious comedy pair. Puck definitely revealed more depth to his character and I can’t help but falling all over for our mischievous little friend. Ash’s character wasn’t really explored much in this book, but he certainly made me laugh out loud.

Julie Kagawa definitely delivered a book that hooks you from the beginning. (which is not much of a surprise, just take a look at her other books!!!) The way she wrote in Puck’s point of view was clearly riveting and I would definitely recommend this book and the Iron King series to everyone. I’m pretty sure that Julie Kagawa’s book will mesmerize you the same way it did to me.

Overall rating 4/5

Thursday, June 2, 2011

Iron Knight book cover revealed :O

Can I just say B.E.A.U.T.I.F.U.L....

Can't wait for OCt. 25th, 2011!!!!

DEFINITELY BUYING THIS BOOK! For now, I'll be reading Julie Kagawa's Summer Crossing (puck's story) :D review will be up as soon as I finish the book :P

Wednesday, June 1, 2011

Unearthly book review

In the beginning, there's a boy standing in the trees . . . .

Clara Gardner has recently learned that she's part angel. Having angel blood run through her veins not only makes her smarter, stronger, and faster than humans (a word, she realizes, that no longer applies to her), but it means she has a purpose, something she was put on this earth to do. Figuring out what that is, though, isn't easy.

Her visions of a raging forest fire and an alluring stranger lead her to a new school in a new town. When she meets Christian, who turns out to be the boy of her dreams (literally), everything seems to fall into place—and out of place at the same time. Because there's another guy, Tucker, who appeals to Clara's less angelic side.

As Clara tries to find her way in a world she no longer understands, she encounters unseen dangers and choices she never thought she'd have to make—between honesty and deceit, love and duty, good and evil. When the fire from her vision finally ignites, will Clara be ready to face her destiny?

Unearthly is a moving tale of love and fate, and the struggle between following the rules and following your heart.


I saw Unearthly a couple of times advertised in blogs, goodreads, etc. but I never really paid much attention to it. I really don’t know why, I mean it had such an astounding book cover and then, I was on my weekly book-buying session and I came across Unearthly again. I decided to read the summary of the book and I was entranced by it. I don’t know why, it just My expectations of this book was pretty high and I would say some aspects of it did meet my expectations and some took me by surprise.

I really don’t know what I was expecting from Unearthly, but I was looking forward for awesomeness, and I would say its pretty average in my taste. It wasn’t necessarily bad that I wanted to roll over and die after reading the book; it was just like any other average good angel books that I read. Some things that took me by surprise is the romance factor I mean sure there were hints that Tucker would be Clara’s love interest but, I never would have expected how it ended with him, I was thinking it would be more of Christian. Another thing that made me go, “whoa wasn’t expecting that” was the ending. It was just so different from what I predicted, which I guess is a good thing because you wouldn’t want a predictable book right? I surely wouldn’t. There were definitely great things in the book that I saw like the pacing. There was never a time where it was too slow or too fast, the writing was no doubt strong and the story flowed well, I just wished the ending didn’t end in such a cliff-hanger that I’m now desperate to see the next book.

Unearthly definitely showed its worth and after reading the book, I got to be a fan of Cynthia Hand. I saw the hard effort she put in research and making this book a great debut and the talent she has for writing. I am definitely looking forward for more of her works and I recommend it to all Ya paranormal fans out there, I am pretty sure you’ll get to love the angel world Cynthia made.

overall rating 3.5/5

Tuesday, May 31, 2011

paranormalcy book review

Evie’s always thought of herself as a normal teenager, even though she works for the International Paranormal Containment Agency, her ex-boyfriend is a faerie, she’s falling for a shape-shifter, and she’s the only person who can see through paranormals’ glamours.

But Evie’s about to realize that she may very well be at the center of a dark faerie prophecy promising destruction to all paranormal creatures.

So much for normal.


Everyone around me just kept on saying READ PARANORMALCY! READ IT! (Umm yeah) So guess what I did? I ignored them haha. I’m the type of person not to fall into peer pressure, then I saw it in barnes and noble while looking for books and it had a pretty book cover, I was pretty sure my eyes were sparkling when I saw it, but then this person came up to me and talked about how amazing it is and how I should read it (not kidding!) so of course, being the person who doesn’t like when people force me to do something I ignored that person and walked away. Then, I went to goodreads and guess what? I saw it again…I mean I love paranormal stuff I mean just take a look at my blog! But I just kept seeing it everywhere, it was like Hannah Montana or Justin bieber in book form and I didn’t want paranormalcy to become another twilight experience (if you know what I mean) so I ignored it, but I guess I ended up giving in I mean, I’m writing this review after all. Part of the reason why is for my blog , but most of the reason is because of its appealing summary and the wonderful cover. After reading the book, I’m glad I ended up giving in to peer preassure. Paranormalcy was definitely worth my time and deserved all it’s hype.

The characters were amazing. I don’t recall any character that I thought was stereotypical, from the main characters to the other supporting ones. The main character Evie, is so cute and spunky. (Which I LOVE!!!) She’s definitely not the bella type. She can definitely kick-ass, which is awesome! Lend, I liked him, but not much of a fan. I think that Kiersten White could’ve made him stronger like physically because I felt like he was a damsel in distress in some parts. (Sorry lend fans, just stating my opinion please do not chase me with a chainsaw XP, I love my life, don’t want to die yet) Reth, I feel is really creepy like I don’t even know, I just felt like I’m going to wake up and see him beside me and say “Hi, my love” I don’t even know, he scares the crap out of me. but at least he wasn’t the stereotypical I saw you for the first time ,fell in love, and now I’m going to die for you type, which makes me appreciate him a little more.

Kiersten White definitely showed me her sense of humor throughout the book. I couldn’t help but turn the page like some crazy maniac just to find out what she has in store for me. I was so engaged through out the book but then, I felt like towards the middle, I felt like it lost something or maybe, that’s not even it, I felt like it was missing some sort of element to it, the certain element that can make it even more breath-taking than it is, maybe it was the action or me adjusting to it’s uniqueness. I’m not really sure, but nonetheless, despite me feeling that it lacked something, I still loved the book. I’m not kidding, I do, and I’m looking forward for what Supernaturally has in store for me. I highly recommend this book to you, and I’m pretty sure you won’t be disappointed.

overall rating 3.5/5

Tuesday, May 24, 2011

Iron Queen

My name is Meghan Chase.

I thought it was over. That my time with the fey, the impossible choices I had to make, the sacrifices of those I loved, was behind me. But a storm is approaching, an army of Iron fey that will drag me back, kicking and screaming. Drag me away from the banished prince who's sworn to stand by my side. Drag me into the core of conflict so powerful, I'm not sure anyone can survive it.

This time, there will be no turning back.

The Iron King series surely had come a long way. I remember the first time I picked up the first Iron King book. I was entranced by the cover and the story; it immediately captivated me from the first page. I never ever thought that there would be a better book than the first one and then came Iron daughter. I was nervous because there’s this epidemic going around with books. Don’t you just hate when books goes from good to a complete mess? Yeah that’s basically what the epidemic is. I am happy to say that the second book didn’t made me want to vomit, in fact it was much better than the first book, so that lead me to the third. I had really high expectations for this one and it met all my expectations and I’m pleased to say it left me breathless and wanting for more.

I loved how Julie Kagawa developed her characters. Starting off with Meghan, she definitely became more independent and strong as a person and I loved that. Puck, I love Puck. I am slightly disappointed she didn’t end up with him because well, he’s always been there for her, and really guys? Who doesn’t love a fun, mischievous, loyal guy who would give up everything for the girl he loves to be happy? If you do, there is seriously something wrong with you. Ash, I have to admit I was slightly piss off with ash in Iron daughter but he definitely stepped up his game and sorry puck but I think Ash is better off with Megan.(yes! I said it, sorry team puck fans I’m a traitor) you could see their passion for each other as chapters pass. Anyways, let’s move on to my most favored character in the book, Grim. I just love him, His intelligence and the sarcastic tone he has is quite adorable and it captures my heart. I love how he acts like he doesn’t care about anything, when in reality he does. He’s been in every adventure Meghan has been. The new characters had interesting personalities too and I’m excited to learn more about them in Ash’s story the Iron Prince.

Iron Queen was never boring and it flowed really well. Everything was just well organized and put together from the first two books. I could tell that Julie Kagawa worked really hard to make this happen. I am so glad to be able to be one of her readers/fan. She has become one of my favorite authors ever and I am definitely looking forward for her future works especially the Iron Knight, Ash’s story. <3 I recommend her series to you, because I’m quite sure that you won’t be disappointed.

Overall rating: 5/5 of course :D

Sunday, May 15, 2011

Born at midnight review

Summarry : One night Kylie Galen finds herself at the wrong party, with the wrong people, and it changes her life forever. Her mother ships her off to Shadow Falls—a camp for troubled teens, and within hours of arriving, it becomes painfully clear that her fellow campers aren’t just “troubled.” Here at Shadow Falls, vampires, werewolves, shapshifters, witches and fairies train side by side—learning to harness their powers, control their magic and live in the normal world.

Kylie’s never felt normal, but surely she doesn’t belong here with a bunch of paranormal freaks either. Or does she? They insist Kylie is one of them, and that she was brought here for a reason. As if life wasn’t complicated enough, enter Derek and Lucas. Derek’s a half-fae who’s determined to be her boyfriend, and Lucas is a smokin’ hot werewolf with whom Kylie shares a secret past. Both Derek and Lucas couldn’t be more different, but they both have a powerful hold on her heart.

Even though Kylie feels deeply uncertain about everything, one thing is becoming painfully clear—Shadow Falls is exactly where she belongs…

Review: The first time I laid my eyes on Born at midnight, the stunning cover entranced me. Once I found out it was a book about different kinds of supernatural and a love triangle to spice it all up. I became really excited and I ended up buying it, despite the fact that I was broke with all the other books I bought and although it might have been not the best idea, I was glad this title was added to my collections of books.
After I got this book, I immediately delved inside and found it quite interesting from page one. I loved how there was humor spread throughout the book and it wasn’t just all serious and dramatic, but despite my appreciation of it’s humor, it’s not what I loved most about the book, it’s the mystery that I adored and what actually kept me going. I just wanted answers and as I get more answers, there are more questions that follow. It kept me questioning until the end and unfortunately, left me on a cliffhanger, which isn’t necessarily terrible, but I was looking forward for closure! T.T
Kylie’s character really annoyed me at times in the book. Although there are times I pitied her and wanted to give her a hug just to make her feel better, the times where I wanted to strangle her to death just to shut her complaining mouth was more dominant. I swear every chapter I read until the very end, she was complaining about how her life sucks. Take one advice from me; stop looking at the darker side of things and start looking on the bright side of things or someone might really just punch you in the face with all your complaining. I mean she had two guys wanting her attention and friends that are there to support her and she still whined. It got a little better towards the end, but the complaining was still there. Also, I hated the fact that he moved on to another guy as soon as she got the chance. It bothered me, it felt unfair and I hated it, but that doesn’t change my love for love triangles, I am in love with love triangles it’s just that in this book it felt as if the romance was too fast-paced between her and the other guys and for a character who doesn’t know how to flirt, she moves on pretty fast.
I don’t really know who I want to pick for Kylie, whether Derek or Lucas, they both seem like they would be a good boyfriend to her, but my question is whether Kylie would be good enough for them, she just have plenty of emotional baggage. I hope she becomes even more stronger in the next upcoming books which I’m looking forward to, because despite my atrocious rants about Kylie, I really did enjoy it, and I thought It was actually a pretty good read. C.C Hunter definitely created a book filled with unpredictable twists and turns, and I do recommend you to give it a chance because I’m pretty sure It would leave you wanting for more.

Overall rating: 3/5

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Beastly by Alex Flinn

(Now a major motion picture starring Vanessa Hudgens and Alex Pettyfer
I am a beast.)
A beast!
Not quite wolf or bear, gorilla or dog but a horrible new creature who walks upright. I am a monster.
You think I'm talking fairy tales? No way. The place is New York City. The time is now. It's no deformity, no disease. And I'll, stay this way forever ruined unless I can break the spell.
Yes, the spell, the one the witch in my English class cast on me. Why did she turn me into a beast who hides by day and prowls by night? I'll tell you. I'll tell you how I used to be Kyle Kingsbury, the guy you wished you were, with money, perfect looks, and the perfect life. And then, I'll tell you how I became perfectly...beastly.

Sorry for the late post guys! I know I promised a review like a few days ago, but I've been so busy with homeworks,tests, and the school play... YES! I made the play... I love being there so much but it takes so much of my time and energy that at the end of the day..I basically die. lol....anyways here's my review as promised :P

As a child, I’ve always enjoyed fairy tales. Seeing Beastly for the first the first time sparked my interest. Unfortunately, I didn’t have time to read it because of school especially with my extracurricular stuff and I ended up forgetting about it until I saw a trailer of the upcoming movie with Alex Pettyfer and Vannessa Hudgens. I realized I really wanted to read the book and then watch the movie right after. I’m glad I saw the trailer and didn’t entirely forget Beastly because beastly took me into a realistic world and opened my eyes.

Beastly is basically a retelling of the traditional Beauty and the Beast that most little kids like I was enjoyed. It was really fun and cute. It showed that what’s in the outside is not really what counts the most, it’s what’s in the inside, and that love can conquer all.

The characters that Alex Flinn made are realistic and relatable characters. They’re the type that you could see in your everyday life. There was Kyle Kingsbury the jerk with the hot physique and money that can be seen everywhere, even on television, the girl that’s invisible to everyone despite of her brains, and the trouble maker witch that causes trouble for everyone.

I recommend this very refreshing read to everyone especially to those who loves their fairytales. I’m pretty sure you’ll be touched and it’ll remind you what made you love Disney princesses as a kid.

Overall rating 3.5/5

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Return to paradise

Summary:CEver since I finished reading Leaving Paradise, I've wanted to get my hands on Return to paradise as soon as possible. When it finally came out, I read it in Barnes and noble and never finished. I never buy books that I already started reading halfway because I think it's a waste of money no matter how famous the book is. Finally, our library was able to get a hold of Return to paradise but there were plenty of reserves for the copy and I only got a hold of the copy now. I’m so happy I finally got to read and finish Return to paradise after a couple of months waiting

Return to paradise grabbed me at the first page, it was really engaging especially with the raw emotions Simon Elkeles put throughout the book. It literally made my heart race and I liked that Maggie changed in this book for the better. She’s more feisty and confident than the last book. Caleb is still the same unlucky dude with fears that we met in the first book, but he was able to grow as a man in this book, and I can’t say I didn’t like that either. We also get to meet a few new unique characters and they weren't so bad either.

A few problems I had throughout this book is at one point in the middle, I almost lost my interest because Maggie and Caleb fighting, making up, and making out became really repetitive. Also, it felt like Simone is trying too hard for Caleb to seem like an actual teenage boy, it really bothered me but, I got over it and the book cover really confused me because Caleb Becker has blonde hair and blue eyes or was it green? While Maggie has light brown hair and the one on the cover didn’t have those traits.

Nonetheless, even with those few flaws, Simone Elkeles is still one of my favorite authors because she made me feel this great emotion and I did enjoy the rest of the book. I loved the humor she had especially with Lenny’s character, the lessons she taught me in this book, and the depth she put into her characters. I am truly looking forward for Simon Elkeles future works and I hope I enjoy it as much I did with this book.

I do recommend you the leaving paradise series and I’m assuring you that it will grab your heartstrings and pull it really hard.

overall rating 3.5/5

Catching Fire

Summary: Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark won the annual competition described in Hunger Games, but the aftermath leaves these victors with no sense of triumph. Instead, they have become the poster boys for a rebellion that they never planned to lead. That new, unwanted status puts them in the bull's-eye for merciless revenge by The Capitol.

If Hunger games left me breathless, Catching fire left me rolling on the floor hyperventilating like a crazy woman.
I had such high hopes for this book just because the first book, Hunger games was so good, that I was a loss for words. It's really bad for me to have such high hopes because usually that leads me into becoming disappointed if my expectations are not met.
I was glad that Suzanne Collins didn't disappoint my expectations and if anything, she exceeded it.

Based on some of the book reviews I read. People didn't seem to like the twist and turns Suzanne Collins put throughout the book, I on the other hand loved them, just because it kept me off guard and it surprised me. I love when authors put unpredictable moments because it keeps me interested, wondering what's going to happen next.

I loved that the characters in catching fire didn’t have a flat character. I like the dimension Suzanne put in each and every single one of them, the flaw that made them into a realistic and relatable character. Katniss Everdeen was one of the characters I admired and at the same time I could relate to. She had characteristics that I have and wished I did.

This book taught me plenty of lessons like happiness doesn’t always come from materialistic things, how one little thing can make a big difference, and what freedom really means. I can't wait for Suzanne’s Mockingjay, especially after that cliff-hanger Suzanne put in that is keeping me on the edge because of a few uncertainties that's currently killing me. If you haven’t read Hunger games, you’re missing out on something wonderful and extraordinary. This book didn’t cause such a big hype for no reason.

rating: 5/5

Wednesday, March 2, 2011

HUNGER GAMES by Suzzane Collins

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book left me breathless...

The first time I encountered this book was in school, we were assigned a few books to read. It didn't really caught my attention because it's not really the type of book I usually read and since everyone seemed interested in it, I chose another book to read instead. Another encounter I had with this book was when my friend was carrying this book and was basically adoring it like some crazy maniac and after that I started seeing it everywhere. The cover didn't really grab my attention at first but i decided I gave it a try since it was also popular in barnes and noble (where i usually get my fantamazing books and yes that's now a word) and my crazy maniac friend was really annoying and forced me to. So, I read it...and dang! was it the best thing ever!!!! I can't believe I didn't read it any sooner! I mean SERIOUSLY! What the heck was wrong with me for ignoring this wonderful piece of art!!!! This book was so unique in it's own ways and the romance was like the topping on such a delicious book.

I love EVERYTHING!, The characters, the suspense EVERYTHING!

I can't wait to buy the next book XD

View all my reviews

Saturday, February 12, 2011

Sleeping beauty ; the vampire slayer

Sleeping Beauty: Vampire Slayer (Twisted Tales, #2)Sleeping Beauty: Vampire Slayer by Maureen McGowan

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

There was no doubt that this novel was very unique in it’s own ways. I could have never imagined a Disney princess and vampires to go together. Now that I think about it, why didn’t I? I mean I have always adored Disney princess since I was a child and I’ve always been fascinated by vampires. I loved how the Disney princess I adored when I was little transformed from a vulnerable fragile princess to a kick ass princess.

Maureen McGowan wrote a wonderful novel that was full of action, adventure, and romance. It was very entertaining especially with the way a reader can chose how Lucette’s life is going to be. I loved that it was very interactive and I’m looking forward to Maureen McGowan’s future works.

View all my reviews

Thursday, February 10, 2011

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, #1)City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I've always been interested in nephilims, like half angels and half human. I don’t know something about them really fascinated me. The books that I usually read that involved nephilims are usually about fallen angels. I’m glad I was able to pick this book up and see a unique story about them. I also like that it involved almost all the mythical creatures that I loved such as vampires, werewolves, and faeries that let the book have the kind of magic I always look for in a book. At first, I was really confused because there were mythical creature involved terms in the book that I didn’t understand. Also, there were a few hard words that I haven't heard of in my life and yes, that includes my lit class. Nonetheless, once I was able to grasp those words and understand it, I was able to finally understand what was going on. I thought that the story was full of wonders and it had so much twist and turns that I’ve got to admit surprised me so much that it lead me to swear more than a girl PMSing. Overall, it was an amazing book, but I hated the ending so much I wanted to bang my head against a table again and again because of an unexpected twist of event. Hopefully the second book or third shows some sort of error with what happened so, I could keep my sanity intact.

View all my reviews

Tuesday, February 8, 2011

Leaving Paradise (Leaving Paradise, #1)Leaving Paradise by Simone Elkeles

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Leaving Paradise was one of the books that would go to my all-time favorite; it was the kind of book that made me flip the pages on the book like I was some mad woman. I have to admit this book didn’t really caught my attention, if anything, I wanted to stay away from this book as much possible part of it maybe because it was assigned to me for school reading and I HATE when the school assigns us to read books because I Hate when people makes me do things, I despised it. After reading the summary I couldn’t help but think it’s another one of my health books that tells the danger of drinking and driving.

Everything I thought of this book was wrong, well almost. It did help me see the aftereffects of drinking and driving, and it affected me in many ways. First of all, I’ve got to say the romance was amazing! There are also plenty of surprises in there. This basically took my heart and gripped it hard, I swear after reading this book I wanted some more and I basically went nuts and it made me think “what’s wrong with me?, why didn’t I read it sooner?”. Even my guy friends liked it, which was surprising because well they’re guys and they barely read books, well *laughs* at least that’s what I think, but really I do recommend this book and I’m pretty sure you won’t be disappointed :D

View all my reviews
Spells (Wings, #2)Spells by Aprilynne Pike

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Spells was one of the most enchanting books I have ever read.I love the supernatural things that occur in this book, and I have learned so many things in Apprylinne Pike’s world of faeries. It was no doubt that this book was far better than Wings. There were parts that were really unpredictable and it just hit you like BAM! And I liked it. I have to say I really love Tamani…such a sweet and loyal guy, I wish I could meet someone like him, but it’s near impossible.

Apprylinne Pike delivered a book full of adventure, romance, and magic that made me feel that I was apart of the book somehow. She let me feel the character’s emotion and let the reader see each of her character’s flaws which is a good thing, because it made them more realistic. I am looking forward to her next book, Illusions.

View all my reviews
Lost Voices (Lost Voices, #1)Lost Voices by Sarah Porter

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Mermaids have always amazed me; something about them is very appealing and magical. This book was very unique in its own ways. First of all, while growing up I had this imagination of this blissful mermaid like Ariel from the little mermaid. This book changed my views on mermaids.

Mermaids in this book are like roses. Roses take time to grow and goes through plenty of difficult process to become what they are. They are similar to the women in this novel that transformed to mermaids because all of them went through this complicated path and soon became as wonderful and striking as a rose but, like a rose, they had thorns, and it lives inside their hearts.

This is what caught my attention. It made me wonder, if I were in their shoes would I hate the same kind of people who hurt me beyond compare or would I fight my nature?

This book taught me several of lessons and inspired me in many ways. It was a book filled with helpless but strong women that poured out raw emotions that I felt while reading the book.

Sarah Porter delivered a book that was compellingly beautiful, and had such detail that made me feel like I was there; I was Luce witnessing everything in front of my eyes. I was glad to have read this. I just wish the ending wasn’t as mysterious as it is; it left me questioning plenty of things and felt confused. It was if something was missing. Other than that, this book is an amazing read and I do recommend this.

View all my reviews

Sunday, January 9, 2011

what can't wait

What Can't Wait (Carolrhoda Ya)What Can't Wait by Ashley Hope PĂ©rez

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Although what can't wait isn't usually the kind of book I would read and It didn't have the very dramatic plots I read in fantasy books. I thought that this book was very refreshing and interesting. It showed plenty of things some teenagers have to face.

Marisa was a very interesting character to me because, no matter how her parents oppose to her going off to college she still persevered and went against her parents. I also like her strong personality that she showed throughout the book.

Ashley hope Perez delivered a book filled with motivation and can strengthen any person reading it emotionally and inspire them to persevere more for their dreams. This was truly a remarkable book, and I’m looking forward to Ashley hope Perez’s future works.

View all my reviews

Wednesday, January 5, 2011

Wings by apprilynne Pike

book summary:Laurel was mesmerized, staring at the pale things with wide eyes. They were terrifyingly beautiful—too beautiful for words.

Laurel turned to the mirror again, her eyes on the hovering petals that floated beside her head. They looked almost like wings.

In this extraordinary tale of magic and intrigue, romance and danger, everything you thought you knew about faeries will

Jelly's review:
Wings was such an enthraling book, I was glad I picked it up in barnes and noble and gave it a try. It took me to a different world and I felt like i was the main character. To tell you the truth,I was actually hesistant for no apparent reason. It did have some flaws like, it dragged on in the beginning of the book and it felt like there were some parts that could've been left out. Also, there are parts that made me confused. Nonetheless, Wings still have some pros such as, the character development, it seemed like that they were real people with a different side to them such as Tamani. Tamani had that outgoing character but he also had his serious side, and David who seems so perfect in Laurel's eyes but, he can be selfish too when it comes to Laurel, and finally Laurel who also had some daring parts to her as oppose to her personality which is normally a pretty silent type of girl. I also liked how it's really unique because I've read a couple of faerie books and this one is just different.
I am so excited to read Apriylynne Pikes next book spell :P I hope the next book is as good as this one or even better :D

genre: fantasy,romance